🏎️💭 My Mind is Racing!- 🚦How To Navigate Racing Thoughts

Edition #2

Have you ever experienced racing thoughts? Those relentless, never-ending streams of thinking that seem to have a life of their own? Well, so much of my journey surrounds those streams between my two ears.

In this edition, I want to peel back the layers of my experience. As a symptom of my bipolar depression the racing came with the gifts (that I would gladly return to sender) of frequent fear, worry, and doubt. But what I discovered along the way changed everything.

I learned that although I couldn't stop my mind from thinking, I could develop tools and set new reactions that allowed me to create moments where I could decide and find small spaces of peace amidst the chaos.

I can't wait to share these valuable insights and tools with you. They have made a profound difference in my life but what is important is that you use these as an example of what is possible, explore the resources and create tools that work for you.

TIME TO READ: 8 mins

My thoughts were like a train moving frantically from station to station with no rest. These racing thoughts, a common feature of my bipolar depression, posed significant challenges both personally and professionally.

These were busy thoughts. From the mundane “what am I going to have for dinner” to my constant fear that a project, deliverable or conversation that I had at the office needed to play out over and over again in my head.

My mind was always occupied with a new task, fixating on reflections, arguments, justifications, wanderings, and questions. In my bed, in the car, at work, dance class, at church, with my friends and family. I had moments of reprieve only to be pulled into a new path.

The issue wasn't the racing thoughts themselves; after all, the mind is designed to think. But it was the consequences of these thoughts that robbed me of peace even in those moments professionally and personally when I needed to affirm my worth.

Often, these thoughts would trigger feelings of fear, worry, and doubt. They would justify my actions or inaction, lead to self-questioning, and generate arguments directed at faceless individuals who would never hear them. They would obsessively focus on problems without providing real solutions. They would masquerade as beneficial, promising to solve major life-altering issues. They would pester me while I was trying to fall asleep and wake me in the middle of the night seeking to solve something at that “very moment”. Yet, they rarely delivered on that promise, jumping quickly to the next thought, leaving matters unresolved within my mind.

I learned that although I couldn't stop my mind from thinking, I could develop tools and set new reactions that allowed me to create moments where I could decide and find small spaces of peace amidst the chaos.

Through months of experimentation, I discovered a few strategies that I continue to use today. I started by incorporating guided meditations specifically designed for racing thoughts into my evening routine. I used sensory exercise to refocus and give my brain something to shift attention (i.e. taste, touch, smell, hear, see).

I also learned to recognize when racing thoughts were occurring and assigned them labels like "thinking," "story," or "justifying." These labels created distance between myself and the thoughts, preventing me from getting lost in a downward spiral.

Moreover, I began asking myself if a particular thought served me in that moment and gave myself the choice of continuing or letting it go.

These tools were not quick fixes, but through consistent practice, they gradually helped me to create more moments where I was aware of the thoughts and aware of the difference my mind felt, if even for 60 seconds. In those moments were an eternity. It’s all about seeing a glimpse of possibility to prompt change.

I’m all about intentional quick actions (even if they aren’t perfect). Quick start actions help to build your muscle for planting seeds and building habits and tools that serve you.

  1. Download the Insight Timer (I personally use this because it’s free for the basics) or other meditation apps (Calm, Headspace etc.). Type in the search “racing thoughts” and see what comes up that may interest you (total time- 3-5 mins).

  2. If you prefer less apps but you have Youtube, login to your account, click and save one of the meditation resource links I shared and save it to your “watch later” folder on Youtube (total time- 3 mins).

  3. Sensory exercises are a form of mindfulness where you focus your attention on touch, taste, sound, smell and see. Check out this article with video on the 5-4-3-2-1 Technique. I've used a form of this exercise and I really like it because it’s easy for me to recall when needed (total time- 1-5 mins).

  4. Label your thoughts (fear, story, thought, etc.) this helps to separate you from the thought and then something I do next is ask myself how is this thought or series of thoughts serving me now and do I want to continue this thought. I at least give myself the choice (total time- 1 min).

  5. Set an appointment reminder right now to

    a. Phone or text friends who might have recommendations for a therapist, counselor, psychologist, coach or other professional you can have a safe space to share your thoughts. (total time 2-5mins)

    b. Reach out to your insurance company (phone or email) for a list of a licensed professional covered in network (total time- 5 mins- who knows if you are on hold)

A curated collection of some of my favorites tools, people, videos, articles and resources to help you kick start your own toolbox. It’s all about finding what works for you.

Videos

Youtube - Youtube was one of my first go to’s for racing thoughts, where I could quickly search and save videos of varying lengths to listen to mostly in the morning or evenings.

Linda Hall- Certain voices relax me and she is one of them. She has a large guided meditation library and for racing thoughts this meditation is one of my favorites.

Declutter the Mind-A great overall channel for meditations on anxiety and racing thoughts. They have a guided 15 min meditation with music and without.

Apps

Insight Timer- I started using the free app and really enjoy the mix of guided meditation, music and live events hosted by teachers in the app. You can upgrade for access to more feature but I have been happy with the free version. I’ve also used the Calm app and Headspace (that both have free features) in the past as well.

Jason Stephenson- His guided meditation was one of the first that I saved and listened to consistently because it just connected with me (and he has a soothing Australian accent). He has an extensive library on Youtube but on Insight Timer I specifically use “Guided Meditation: Releasing Anxious Thoughts At Midnight”.'

Liza Colpa- Is a guided meditation teacher, yoga and wellness instructor who uses these for the purpose of healing, growth, self-development, and transformation. Many of her meditations are 10-15 mins and once you hear her voice you won’t forget her. One that I have on repeat on the Insight Timer is “Inspiration to Release Overwhelm and Realign with Who You Are”. She also has an active Youtube channel for her yoga and wellness.

Articles

Sometimes you just read something that sticks with you. Below are some articles with great tools and strategies, many of which I have used and some of them (i.e. breathwork, sensory) I use today.

Healthline has a good introduction to breathwork and the different types and benefits. Once you’ve read it, you can do a youtube search or a search on your meditation app for exercises and save any that you find helpful for you.

Real Simple’s article “4 Ways to Cope With Invasive Racing Thoughts” shares different techniques that range from mindfulness to therapy and other exercises.

Mental Health America is a leading community-based nonprofit dedicated to addressing the needs of those living with mental illness and to promoting the overall mental health of all. They have extensive training, resources and articles. Keep Your Mind Grounded is a good fact sheet with accessible advice and tips in a downloadable PDF.

Reply

or to participate.